Chamber Ensemble


Seyyah III











(for Ensemble / 9‘)

Flu. (in C, G) - Cla. (B flat, Bass) - Perc. - Piano - Vln - Vla - Vlc

Written for an ensemble of 7 players, this piece finalizes the Seyyah trilogy. The piece finds its core within the imperishable work of the Persian mathematician, astronomer and poet Omar Khayyam; The Rubáiyát. The quote below which is taken from this work represents the essence of the trilogy, therefore is the final step on the path.

* For more information please visit "Seyyah Concept" page.

- Performed by Cikada and Hezarfen Ensemble -











(for String Quartet / 6-7‘)

By definition, the word Senri may be translated as a thousand miles which comes from two Japanese words; Sen 千 being the numerical value thousand and ri 里 being an old Japanese unit of distance which is roughly a mile. However, the reason behind the title of this piece is because of a time in my youth while I was residing near a place called Senri-yama which was a defining period in my life. In that sense, Senrican be viewed as a homage to my time in Japan.

( II ) Rewritten for Arditti Quartet.

( I ) Performed by Hezarfen Ensemble.

* Senri is featured among selected composers and compositions in the article “Eine kommentierte Playlist – Es brodelt hier – zur zeitgenössischen Musik der Türkei” in VAN Magazine.











(for Quartet / 5-6‘)

Trumpet - A. Saxophone - Viola - Percussion

Warriors (samurai) without a master were called ronin (浪人) during the feudal Japan. One could be considered a ronin in either upon the death of his master or if he were to lose his master’s favor. Ronins often associated with a bad reputation due to their actions as a wandering warrior with no one to answer to. There is also the shame of choosing not to commit seppuku (also known as harakiri, a form of suicide) to honor their master’s death according to bushido (the way/code of the warrior). This piece represents the sound world of a ronin; his internal conflicts, rage towards his surroundings, agile and unpredictable movements, his shame and wandering

- Commissioned by OutHEAR New Music Week 2019 for Klangforum Wien & PPCM -

Seyyah Trilogy







(for Ensemble / 12‘)

Harpsichord - Pan Flute (in C/Bass)  - Recorder (Tenor & Bass) - Viola - Accordion - Percussion 

Seyyah Trilogy is the reflection and summary of the three-part series, Seyyah. This piece is specifically built upon the Seyyah Concept and the works that surround it. Specially written and re-arranged for the instrumentation of Harpsichord & Black Pencil Ensemble, Seyyah Trilogy captures the soul of this series. Seyyah I being a concerto for pan flute is represented within the agile parts while harpsichord represents the dominant piano writing of Seyyah II. Seyyah III, being an ensemble piece is featured heavily within the textures throughout the piece and lays the foundation of its character. 

- Scheduled to be premiered  by Ensemble Black Pencil in April 2020 -

* Finalist for Black Pencil Prize 2020










(for Quartet / 5-6‘)

Ney - Kemençe - Viola - Violoncello

Komorebi, is one of those unique words that has a special meaning which is by definition ‘sunlight filtering through the leaves of a tree’. The meaning behind this phrase is to enable a medium for sunlight to be visible apart from its daily role within nature. Through the leaves, sunlight becomes a tangible phenomenon seen as beams of light. In this piece, elements from Turkish makam music are combined with Western contemporary art music, resulting in a different medium for makam to coexist. A different presentation other than its usual sphere just like Komorebi… 

İstanbul Technical University “Music and Sciences” Symposium /

 Erimtan Archeology and Arts Museum: Contemporary Side of Makam


- Commissioned and performed by NK Ensemble. -


* Komorebi is commercially published within the album “Lahza”.











(for Saxophone Quartet / 3‘)


 - Performed by Sigma Project in Mixtur 2020.

Life in Every Breath









(for Trio / 7‘)

Pan Flute - Viola - Percussion

- Written for & performed by Ensemble Black Pencil -

- Performed by Aniek van Oosterom, Lotte Grotholt, David Kuijken. -

A Journey to North









(for Trio / 12‘)

Flute (in C, G, Piccolo) - Violoncello - Piano

- Performed by Hezarfen Ensemble -

The Sound of Pergamon: Acropolis








(for Ensemble / 5‘)

Flute  - Percussion - Piano - Violin I - Violin II - Viola - Violoncello 

- Performed by Hezarfen Ensemble -

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White SoundCloud Icon
  • White Spotify Icon